Killer Smile


« 500! | Home | . . . »

[So It Goes, and Romantic Formulas]

So not only have I not blogged in a while, but I have . . . one . . . two . . . three . . . yeah three reviews for this blog.

We’ll go back furthest first.  Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut.  It was good, interesting.  Billy was entertaining, though I like the Tralfamadorians a heck of a lot better.  The war parts bored me, personally, which sucks because I guess the whole Dresden part was the point.  I mostly enjoyed the ironic bits (I’d include examples of these, but it would give stuff away, which I don’t want to do), and the parts about Tralfamadore.  By the end, actually, by five pages in, the “so it goes” drove me completely INSANE.  It stopped feeling all symbolic, and just got like “oh well I started, so I should keep doing it every single time it’s supposed to happen”.  Not that I believe in symbols or the like.  So that’s what I have to say about that book.  I’d give it a three for five.  I’d recommend it though.

Book the second, An Abundance of Katherines by John Green.  As an active watcher of the VlogBrothers/Brotherhood2.0 I should’ve read this book a long time ago.  LONG time ago.  And let me mention how odd it is to realize that an author writes the same way he speaks.  It isn’t often that you get to hear an author talk enough for you to be able to recognize that.  Anyway, it’s been a really long time since I’ve really read a YA book.  The last one, I believe, was Meg Cabot’s Ready Or Not, which was really awful (but that’s because her only good YA novel is All-American Girl.  The others suck.  That’s not in reference to her adult novels, either.  Those are great).  But this was SO GOOD.  It’s all about this kid who tries to find a mathematic formula for relationships.  And the creepy ass thing is that it totally works.  At least, I think so.  I have lots of faith in math.

The third and final review is a music review.  For [Title of Show].  It’s a show that’s going on Broadway this July, which I am SO excited for, btw.  I was kinda afraid to buy the CD at first, because listening to online clips it didn’t sound THAT great.  But now I’m listening to it and it’s SO FREAKING GOOD.  It’s really really funny with about a buhzillion great lines.  And while the idea of show-in-a-show or even self-referential-show aren’t that original, this show is anything but cliched.  It’s remarkable.  They do so much with it, and you can totally hear the story through the music (which is what I look for in a musical’s soundtrack).  It’s amazing.  If you are a musical person, at all, CHECK IT OUT.  Five for Five.  Definitely.

And now I’m reading four books at once, so get psyched.  For school we’re reading Macbeth (which is a hard-ish read, but it’s really trippy and cool for Shakespeare).  Then I was reading my favorite Marian Keyes book (aka favorite Irish Adult Chick Lit), called The Other Side of the Story.  It’s an amazing book that I’ve read . . . and it would take me WAY too long to explain what it’s about because I always take forever to explain things.  Then I decided that I would start reading Harry Potter again with my friend, a chapter at a time, since he hasn’t read any of them, which is the biggest crime I’ve ever heard of.  Then my friend lent me another YA book that I hadn’t heard of, called The Market by J. M. Steele.  It’s pretty good so far, but I’m only on chapter three.

Anyway, I’d better check out.  Yay.

:D

Leave a Reply

